Bryan Adrian

A place to discuss topics which impact all of Davidson's sports
rsgwynn1

Bryan Adrian

Post by rsgwynn1 » Mon Apr 04, 2022 3:52 am

I graduated in '69 and vividly remember the last second loss to UNC in the Eastern Regionals. I recently wondered how the Cats did the next year, Mike Maloy's last and Terry Holland's first. They won the conference but lost in the NCAA first round. Now here's what's weird. The leading scorer on that team was not Maloy but a guy named Bryan Adrian.

https://www.sports-reference.com/cbb/sc ... /1970.html

Adrian played in only six games the next year ('70-'71) and is not on the roster for '71-'72. He died in 2010. Here's a memorial article.

https://greensborosports.com/2010/05/10 ... rious-man/

He does appear as a freshman in my 1969 Q&C. I guess he had a glorious season as a sophomore, was injured early on as a junior, and stopped playing.

Does anyone remember him?
Last edited by rsgwynn1 on Wed Apr 06, 2022 8:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

i77cat

Re: Bryan Adrian

Post by i77cat » Mon Apr 04, 2022 5:38 am

There is a thread called BRYAN ADRIAN in the Hall of Fame area.
"Here’s what is the elephant in the room. Travis had a bag before. Now everyone has a bag. The Travis Ford recruiting prowess was greatly exaggerated."---SLU fan explaining how NIL took away Ford's recruiting edge

wildforthecats

Post by wildforthecats » Mon Apr 04, 2022 8:25 am

Adrian lived in Matthews NC where I live, I would see him around from time to time.

DC69Wildcat

Post by DC69Wildcat » Mon Apr 04, 2022 10:24 am

Does anyone have access to Scott Fowler's Observer article from May 9, 2010? I can't find it online, as the Observer doesn't seem to have archives, among other things.
"We were in the center ring the whole night,'' longtime Davidson coach Bob McKillop said. ''We were not on the ropes. We were not on the mat. We were in the center ring slugging away, and we just ran out of time.''

mdickensdc